The Solomon Quake’s Seismic Aftermath

During the 4 days since the great quake struck the Solomon Islands, various island states in the Solomon Sea have experienced 72 shallow earthquakes of magnitude 4 or greater.

The magnitude 8.1 great quake struck the Solomon Islands at 7:40 a.m. local time on Monday April 2nd 2007. Since then, another 72 earthquakes at depths less than 40 km have struck near the Solomon Islands, D’Entrecasteaux Islands and Bougainville, Papua New Guinea.

54 of the events have struck in the Solomons, 14 near Bougainville and 4 near the D’Entrecasteaux Islands, all within the Solomon Sea. Magnitude distributions, including the major event, have been as follows:
Magnitude 8 (1), mag. 7 (none), mag. 6 (9), mag. 5 (48) and mag. 4 (15).

Earthquake activity has continued further west in the Coral Sea, with 5 quakes being reported – 3 in the Loyalty Islands and 2 near Vanuatu. Three of these earthquakes have been of magnitude 6.

Earthquake activity near Fiji shows no apparent change since the great quake struck, with only 2 events over magnitude 4.0 being reported so far.

Earthquake activity in New Zealand has also been light, with the Geonet website reporting 4 earthquake events all of which were located in the Taupo Volcanic Zone – 3 were members of the Matata earthquake swarm with the other located near Murupara. The Geonet database shows 29 shallow and deep events with magnitudes between 3.0 and 4.0 within New Zealand during the 4 days since the great quake. Most of these would not have been felt.

[Compiled from data provided by the Geonet project and its sponsors EQC, GNS Science and FRST; and the US Geological Survey and its contributing agencies.]

Leave a Reply